Parahi

I hate to admit it, but one of the ways I sort of organize the chapters of my life are by heartbreaks. I’m one of those people who just likes the same guy… until I like the next one.

I’m sort of moving past one now, a difficult one I might add. I forgot how I used to express the pain and heartbreak. Today, I was looking through old dance videos, and I came across an ahuroa I was a part of in 2010:

This song is about unrequited love: Ta’aki goes to an island to find the perfect engagement gift for his betrothed Nua. However, while on the island, Marama watches him look for the most beautiful black pearl and falls in love with him. However, after he finds the perfect black pearl, he leaves to return to Nua and Marama is left heartbroken over unrequited love. This is her song after Ta’aki leaves; this is her goodbye.

In 2010, I was getting over one of the major crushes in my life–arguably one of most life-changing guys I’ve ever met. I cried on stage while dancing this song because it was so moving.

Now, in 2017, this song feels more relevant than ever. For awhile, I forgot about this song and how I used to sing it in my dorm room to help me move on past heartbreak. In the song, Marama sings how she prays to the gods and ancestors to help lessen the pain and to move on. That’s how I feel when I’m struggling to get over someone–I just want the pain to end.

I’m glad I re-found this song because this song has helped me through so many heartbreaks. It’s my reminder to turn heartbreak into beauty because that’s, in my opinion, the best way to move on.

Leave a Reply

